Millet-Fig Muffins {Gluten-Free & Vegan}

Millet-Fig Muffins {Gluten-free & Vegan}

Pretty much as soon as I saw this recipe I went out and bought gluten-free flour, xanthan gum, and dried figs (I already had everything else I needed in the pantry/fridge). While we’re not gluten-free (or vegan, for that matter), I’m always up for trying something new when it comes to baking, and these muffins just sounded so good to me.

This was the first time that I used gluten-free flour, so I was a little nervous about how these would come out, but they were great! The crumb was very tender, but then there was some crunch from the millet. I’d say these lean towards the savory side from the olive oil, but they also have a bit of sweetness from the maple syrup and the dried figs. They’re great for breakfast or a snack, and they freezer really well.

Millet-Fig Muffins {Gluten-Free & Vegan}

Millet-Fig Muffins {Gluten-Free & Vegan}

2 cups gluten-free flour (I used King Arthur Flour Gluten-Free Multi-Purpose Flour)

1 teaspoon xanthan gum (omit if your flour already includes it)

1/2 cup raw millet

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons baking soda

Big pinch fine sea salt

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1/3 cup ground flaxseed

2/3 cup maple syrup (I used Grade B)

2/3 cup unsweetened almond milk

2/3 cup extra virgin olive oil

1 cup chopped dried figs (I used dried calimyrna figs)

1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Line a muffin tin with paper liners.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, xanthan gum, millet, baking powder, baking soda, salt, ginger, and ground flaxseed. In another bowl, whisk together the maple syrup, almond milk, and olive oil. In a small bowl, toss the chopped dried figs with a spoonful of the dry ingredients (this keep the figs from sinking down to the bottom of the muffins, and keeps the figs from sticking together). Gently mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until just combined, then fold in the figs.

3. Divide the batter into the muffin cups and bake until browned and a toothpick comes out clean, 20 to 25 minutes.

Makes 12-18 muffins (The recipe says it makes 12, but I must’ve made mine on the smaller side since I got 18.)

From It’s All Good, by Gwyneth Paltrow & Julia Turshen

8 thoughts on “Millet-Fig Muffins {Gluten-Free & Vegan}

  1. Thank you for sharing! As someone who follows a gluten-free and (mostly) vegan diet I really look forward to trying these! They look like such a great breakfast staple.

    • I hope you make them; I enjoyed them so much! And while I’m not gluten-free or vegan, I love being able to share recipes that people who do follow those diets can eat. I hope you love them as much as I do!

  2. Wow, these look awesome! I love all the different textures it seems to have. I really need to bake up some muffins soon. I haven’t baked muffins or quick bread in so so long 😦

    • I’ve hardly been baking at all lately, EXCEPT for muffins. I think that now that the kids are back in school my brain is heading into fall mode (even though it’s hotter now than it was all summer, and probably will be for the next couple months), so hopefully I’ll be doing some more baking now.

      I actually made these a few weeks ago, but I had to return the book to the library before I had a chance to type up a post! But now I own the book, and so I was finally able to get them up.

  3. have we all taken a break from baking recently? that’s late summer for you. 🙂 i feel the same: i sometimes have a difficult time with the late summer/fall transition, but now that we’re entering fall with school beginning, it’s more defined for me and my brain is into fall baking.
    yay! you have the book permanently! we can cookalong together. i’m having just a few people over for a quick brunch this sunday, and NONE of them would think to like these muffins, but i bet they would love them (as long as i keep the words “gluten free” and “vegan” out of the description). i think i’ll test my theory.

    • I am planning on making 2 things from the cookbook for dinner Sunday night — the Quinoa with Mushrooms & Arugula and the Power Chopped Salad with Creamy Parsley Dressing. It should be a yummy, healthy, veggie-filled meal 🙂

      If you make the muffins, let me know what you think!

  4. Pingback: toasted coconut, almond, + millet bark. | A Periodic Table

  5. Pingback: [virtuous] fig + millet donuts. | A Periodic Table

Leave a comment