Chewy Chocolate Chip & Dried Cranberry Granola Bars

Chewy Chocolate Chip & Dried Cranberry Granola Bars

Yesterday, for the first time in (many) weeks, I actually felt like spending time in the kitchen. I took advantage of that to make these granola bars. While I definitely don’t make all of their snacks from scratch, I don’t like to rely too much on store-bought snacks for the kids—they’re pricy, and all too often full of a ton of crap that I’d rather them not eat too much of. And it had definitely been too long since I made anything for them.

Chewy Chocolate Chip & Dried Cranberry Granola Bars

I love that these are relatively healthy, use ingredients that I pretty much always have in the house, and are easy to make. They also freeze well, so you can make a big batch and have them for a while.

You can find the recipe for these HERE. I doubled the recipe and mixed in a 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips and 2/3 cup dried cranberries, which was plenty—I’d probably cut down on them next time.

Chewy Chocolate Chip & Dried Cranberry Granola Bars

14 thoughts on “Chewy Chocolate Chip & Dried Cranberry Granola Bars

    • They’re really good! And I didn’t find them too sweet, which I was happy for (I used the lower amount of brown sugar).

      I love dried cranberries and chocolate together! 🙂

  1. listen: i have been thinking about these things ever since i saw the email come across. this is PERFECT: stella loves the quaker chewy granola bars, but i only buy them every so often because of the same reasons you listed: don’t love all the processed foods for her. but if i can make them at home? two happy girls – me and little me. i’m really excited to make these, as in, had i not already been to the store today, i would be running out right now to gather ingredients.
    and i love the way you wrapped these; SO cute.

    • I hope you make these, because they really are so easy & yummy!

      And thanks–I figured it was worth it to take a few minutes to wrap them individually in waxed paper. That way I could keep them all in a container in the freezer, and just take them out as needed to throw into their lunch boxes.

  2. I’ve made homemade granola bars before and while it’s so great to know every ingredient that’s in them…they are also SO.MUCH.BETTER than storebought granola bars! Love the chocolate chip and cranberry combo in these!

    • I made the baked version, since I wanted them to be as sturdy as possible (so they’d hold up in the kids’ lunch boxes). I haven’t tried the no-bake version.

    • Chewy granola bars are the best! And I love that you can customize the additions. My current favorite is chocolate chips, dried cranberries, and pumpkin seeds.

Leave a Reply

