Cucumber Salad

Cucumber Salad

Back in March I went with Chaim on one of his business trips to Georgia. One of the stops we made while we were there was the Museum of Aviation at Robins Air Force Base. Chaim’s gotten the kids very into airplanes, and we wanted to pick up some stuff for them at the gift shop.

Along with the gifts for the kids, I picked up a copy of The Military Wives’ Cookbook for myself. It just seemed fitting to make something from it for Memorial Day today. There are tons of recipes in there that I want to try, but I wanted something light and fresh to go along with the barbequed chicken and roasted potatoes that we had for dinner. I decided on this simple cucumber salad.

This is a slight variation on the recipe in the book, since I wanted to use what I already had on hand.

Cucumber Salad

5 Persian cucumbers, quartered lengthwise and chopped

1 small onion, chopped

1/4 cup finely chopped parsley

1/4 cup finely chopped cilantro

1/4 cup lemon juice

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

Place the chopped cucumbers and onions in a medium bowl. Combine the remaining ingredients in a small bowl and whisk to combine. Pour the dressing over the vegetables, mix well, and refrigerate for at least one hour before serving.

4-6 servings

Adapted from The Military Wives’ Cookbook, by Carolyn Quick Tillery

Camp Sumter / Andersonville Prison (Civil War POW Camp)

A small portion of Camp Sumter / Andersonville Prison (Civil War POW Camp)
(Another place we visited while in Georgia. It was heartbreaking to think that I was standing on the ground where so many men suffered and died.)

10 thoughts on “Cucumber Salad

  1. This looks and sounds great. I am a lover of all cucumber salads but my favorites are non-dairy. There is something about the acidic dressing (lemon juice or vinegar) that I think goes so well with bbq. Aren’t “community cookbooks” wonderful? They often contain gems that have been cooked for generations.

    • I agree–while I do love yogurt based cucumber salads, this type of salad is just so quick and simple and fresh, and goes with pretty much any summer meal I can think of.

  2. i love how we both made cucumber salads this weekend, but they’re a little opposite too! I’m a fan of the non-sour cream/yogurt variety as well, and i like all the herbs in this one (which is more than what i usually see, and that’s a plus. Don’t you love picking up cookbooks like that? Hidden gems in them, always. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Cucumber Salad | Dreamy Blog

  4. Pingback: Labor Day Recipe Round Up | wee eats

Leave a comment