Raspberry-Cacao Nib Overnight Oats

Raspberry-Cacao Nib Overnight Oats

Oh, hey! Remember me? It’s been a while. In fact, it’s been way too long. While I’ve still been making and eating lots of good food, my focus lately has been more on my running (I’m in the middle of training for a half marathon right now). A few weeks ago, though, I was browsing through this space, and I realized that I missed it. And soon it’ll be time to start making birthday cakes again (all our birthdays are from late winter to early summer), and those are my favorite posts to look back on! I’m not sure how I often I’ll be posting, but hopefully more than once every 10 months! I’m also on Instagram now (I post often). You can find me HERE.

Raspberry-Cacao Nib Overnight Oats

I also wanted to mention that last May I decided to go vegetarian (heavy on the plant-based foods, light on the dairy and eggs), so you won’t be seeing any new meat/poultry/fish-based recipes on here (not that I was really posting them very often, anyhow, since I was never a huge meat-eater to begin with). I will leave on the previous ones, though, at least for now.

Anyhow, onto the recipe.

I’ve been making these overnight oats for breakfast at least a few times a week lately. I love being able to just pull a jar out of the fridge on hectic mornings, and it fills me up and gives me enough energy to run after I bring the kids to school. After defrosting overnight, the frozen raspberries break apart when you stir it, giving the whole thing a fruity flavor (and a pretty pink color!), and the cacao nibs give it a hint of chocolate and a crunch I love.

Raspberry-Cacao Nib Overnight Oats

Raspberry-Cacao Nib Overnight Oats

Raspberry-Cacao Nib Overnight Oats

3/4 cup frozen raspberries

1 heaping tablespoon cacao nibs

1 tablespoon chia seeds

1/2 cup rolled oats

generous 3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or use plain, and add some vanilla extract)

Optional: up to 1 tablespoon coconut sugar (or sweetener of choice)

1. Add all the ingredients to a jar, using enough almond milk to cover everything by a little bit (remember that the frozen raspberries will give off liquid as they defrost). I like my oats fairly thick, so if you want yours a bit thinner, add more milk. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

2. When you’re ready to eat, just give everything a good stir. That’s it!

Makes 1 serving

2 thoughts on “Raspberry-Cacao Nib Overnight Oats

  1. hiiiiiiii! I’m thrilled to see you posting again! You know i missed you and your posts, and obviously you’ve had a ton going on (and obviously we’ve talked in between but i still missed your posts). šŸ™‚ I’m super excited for you and your running: a half marathon! that’s serious…i would love to do that someday, but it requires training, and i’m not there yet. i think i could do a 5K by now but that’s probably it unless i could walk it. šŸ™‚
    This looks delicious: i’ve recently been trying to switch up my breakfast routine a little. i usually like eggs and avocado, but it’s just getting old…same thing, all the time, boring. but this! this i could do and be totally happy. i’m an early hungry person, so i need something that would fill me up and keep me from snacking until lunch.

Leave a Reply

