Chocolate-Swirled Coffee Meringues

 

Chocolate-Swirled Coffee Meringues

Meringues are one of my favorite things to bake. I love how just a few simple ingredients—egg whites (often leftover from another recipe), sugar, and flavorings—come together to make something that tastes so great. These have dark chocolate swirl throughout, making them a bit more decadent than your average meringue. Out of the all meringues I’ve made (and I’ve made many), these were definitely my favorite! I seriously could not stop eating them.

Chocolate-Swirled Coffee Meringues

 

Chocolate-Swirled Coffee Meringues

3 large egg whites

Large pinch salt (I used kosher salt, but any salt is fine)

1/2 teaspoon vinegar (I used red wine, because that’s what I had on hand)

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon ground instant coffee

7 ounces semi-sweet or bittersweet chocolate, melted and cooled

1. Preheat oven to 275°F. Line to sheet pans with parchment paper.

2. Beat the egg whites with a hand mixer or in a stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment. When foamy, add the salt and the vinegar, and beat the mixture until you get soft peaks. Add the sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time, beating well after each addition, until the mixture has stiff peaks. Add the coffee, and beat until incorporated. Drizzle the cooled melted chocolate over the meringue mixture, but do not mix in.

3. Using two spoons, dollop the mixture onto the prepared baking sheets.

4. Bake for 1 hour and then turn off the oven. Leave the meringues in the oven for a few more hours, or even overnight if you make them in the evening.

Makes about 24 meringues

Inspired by Bakers Royale
9 thoughts on “Chocolate-Swirled Coffee Meringues

    • Meringues ARE simple, which is one of the reasons I love to make them. Of course it helps that they’re yummy, too! 🙂

    • Aren’t meringues just so great? And after one bite of these I really DID want to squeal… except I was too busy stuffing my face with the next bite.

      I need to make these again. Soon.

  1. I seriously need to make these: meringues are SO easy to do, and i tend to make them at the same time as i make curds (to use up the whites) and each time i wonder why i don’t just make them independently of the curds, because, delicious. And these are SO gorgeous, too. Is it wrong to want chocolate coffee meringues this early in the morning? I say no. 🙂

    • I may have had a handful of these for breakfast one day, alongside a glass of milk….

      And, yes, they really ARE easy to make. And, bonus points: they are very low in calories as far as treats go (especially those made without a chocolate swirl). And they taste so darn amazing. All good things! 🙂

  2. Love the flavor combo here…plus how pretty they are! I’ve been wanting to make meringues and just haven’t gotten around to it. I really need to!!!

Leave a Reply

