Peanut Butter Cookie Dough-Pretzel Ice Cream

Peanut Butter Cookie Dough-Pretzel Ice Cream

The first time I looked through the Milk Bar cookbook, one of the recipes that caught my eye was the pretzel ice cream. I tend to be attracted to unusual-flavored recipes, and I knew that was one I wanted to make. I wanted to use it as a base for another recipe, but I wasn’t sure what.

Fast forward about two years: I started thinking about that ice cream again, and what I wanted to do with it. Pretzels and peanut butter is a fantastic combination, so I decided to use that as a jumping off point. My first idea was to make sandwiches, with the pretzel ice cream slathered in between peanut butter cookies, but I didn’t really feel like baking up a batch of cookies. And then it hit meโ€”what if I just made peanut butter cookie dough, and then swirled it throughout the ice cream? What I ended up with was a perfect salty-sweet treat, and one of the best ice creams I’ve made so far.

Peanut Butter Cookie Dough-Pretzel Ice Cream

Notes:

The ice cream recipe yielded about half of what the recipe said it would (about a pint, rather than a quart), so the peanut butter ended up overpowering the pretzel flavor just a little more than I would’ve liked. So next time I would either cut down on the amount of cookie dough added to the ice cream or (more likely) make a double batch of the pretzel ice cream.

For my kosher readers: I used Kolatin brand unflavored gelatin in the ice cream base. This works just like regular non-kosher gelatin. I have no idea if any other type of kosher gelatin would work in its place.

Peanutย  Butter Cookie Dough-Pretzel Ice Cream

For the Peanut Butter Cookie Dough:

1/4 cup (half stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1/4 cup creamy peanut butter

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

2 tablespoons milk

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

For the Pretzel ice Cream:

6 cups small pretzel twists

2 cups whole milk

3/4 teaspoon powdered gelatin (see note above)

2 tablespoons cold water

1/2 cup glucose syrup

2 tablespoons tightly packed light brown sugar

1 1/2 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1/8 teaspoon baking soda

Make the cookie dough:

1. Combine the butter, peanut butter, granulated sugar, and light brown sugar in a bowl. Cream with a mixer on medium speed for about 2 to 3 minutes, until light and fluffy. Add in the salt, vanilla extract, and milk. Mix well. With the mixer on low speed, add in the flour until just combined. Refrigerate the dough for at least 30 minutes, until firm.

2. Place marble-sized chunks of dough onto a parchment-lined sheet pan. Cover with plastic wrap, and freeze until ready to use.

Make the ice cream:

1. Preheat oven to 300ยฐF.

2. Spread the pretzels out on a large sheet pan. Toast for 15 minutes, until the pretzels slightly darken in color. Cool completely.

3. Place the pretzels into a large bowl and pour the milk over them. Stir for 2 minutes.

4. Strain the milk mixture through a fine-mesh sieve into a bowl. Discard the pretzels.

5. Bloom the gelatin: Put the 2 tablespoons of cold water into a small bowl or cup, and evenly sprinkle the powdered gelatin over it. Let sit for 3 to 5 minutes.

6. Warm a little of the pretzel milk in a saucepan. Add the gelatin, and whisk to dissolve. Add the remaining pretzel milk, glucose syrup, brown sugar, cream cheese, salt, and baking soda. Whisk until all the ingredients are fully incorporated (I kept the saucepan over low heat while I did this, to help everything dissolve easily).

7. Pour the mixture into a bowl or container, cover, and refrigerate until very cold.

8. Process according to your ice cream maker’s instructions. Pour into a bowl or containers and stir in the cookie dough chunks. Cover well, and freeze until firm.

Makes about 1 quart

Ice cream base from Momofuku Milk Bar, by Christina Tosi
Cookie dough adapted from this recipe
8 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cookie Dough-Pretzel Ice Cream

  1. You are amazing! I sent your last blog about Chanakkah to a young Jewish women (who is not Kosher, but her family is) and she just loved it and sent it on to the rest of her family.

    Love you guys, grandma

  2. Hi faygie

    This sounds amazing. Can I put in request For some when I come LA. ๐Ÿ˜€โ˜บ๏ธ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜ƒ

    Love getting your posts. I love the way you write

    By the way that personality test from yesterday was Spot on and so interesting.

    Look forward seeing you next week and hopefully the 4 of us can do a good meal out. Anywhere good??

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. superb pairing! I’ve made the straightforward pretzel ice cream, but this would be SO MUCH BETTER!! and you know what would go super well with all of this? fudge sauce. now i can’t stop thinking about this.

    • I was actually thinking of adding a fudge sauce (or some sort of chocolate component), but I decided I wanted to keep it as just a peanut butter & pretzel pairing.

      And I know you’d love this, because I know you also love sweet & salty like I do. I still have some left in the freezer, if you want to hop on the next flight to LA. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Oh my god, Faygie, it’s like you created the ice cream of my dreams!!! Seriously, I need this in my life. Sadly I don’t think I’m going to pull out the ice cream maker til the warm weather is back but this is so going to be the first thing I make ๐Ÿ™‚ And I agree with Shannon on the fudge sauce ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Amy, I really hope you make this! I think (I hope) that you’ll love it.

      I guess that’s one good thing about living here? That I could pretty much make ice cream year round. Although knowing me, I’d make and eat ice cream in freezing weather, too ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Pingback: Tomato & Scallion Cream Cheese Bagel Bombs | Life Tastes Good

Leave a Reply

