Potato-Apple Latkes with Cinnamon Sour Cream

Potato-Apple Latkes with Cinnamon Sour Cream

I was so excited when, months ago, I found out that Thanksgiving was going to fall out during Chanukah this year. My first thought was that latkes were definitely going to be the potato side dish this year, and I was going to make a cranberry-applesauce to put on top of them, and it was going to be so. much. fun!

Except that forย the past month or so Thanksgivukkah has been ALL over the internet. And guess what? I’m already tired of it. And it doesn’t even happen for another two and a half weeks.ย  It’s kinda like how pumpkin recipes started showing up everywhere on September 1st, and by the time October rolled around I was so over pumpkin recipes. Yeah, too much of a good thing can sometimes just be too much.

Potato-Apple Latkes with Cinnamon Sour Cream

So, I may or may not be serving latkes on Thanksgiving; I haven’t decided yet. However, I probably won’t be making a big deal about the whole Thanksgiving and Chanukah colliding thing. But if you are looking for a recipe for latkes to serve for Thanksgiving or Chanukah (or both), here’s a great one to try. They’re a little bit savory, a little bit sweet, and a whole lot delicious!

Potato-Apple Latkes with Cinnamon Sour Cream

2 pounds Yukon gold potatoes, peeled and shredded (6 cups)

2 medium Gala apples, shredded (2 cups)

1 1/2 teaspoons salt, divided

1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves

Freshly ground black pepper

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

Grapeseed oil, for frying (or use any neutral-flavored oil)

1/2 cup sour cream

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Demerara (raw) sugar, for garnish

1. Combine the potatoes, apples, and 1 teaspoon of the salt in a colander. Let the mixture stand for 20 minutes, pressing down every so often with the back of a large spoon to squeeze out as much liquid as possible.

2. Pour the potato mixture into a large bowl, and add the remaining 1/2 teaspoon of salt, the thyme, and black pepper. Don’t be stingy with the black pepper; you want a nice amount of it to play against the apples and the sugar. Add the flour, and mix well.

3. Place a large skillet over medium-high heat, and coat the bottom of the pan with oil. In batches, add the latke mixture to the pan by 1/3-cupfuls, and cook for several minutes on each side, until golden brown. Keep a careful eye on them. If the darken too quickly, lower the heat a bit, because you don’t want the outside to burn before the inside it cooked (I used a cast iron skillet and had to lower the temperature a bit, because the pan gets really hot!). Add more oil to the pan as needed.

4. Remove the latkes from the pan onto a plate lined with paper towels to drain. You can keep latkes warm on a sheet pan in a 200ยฐF oven while you prepare the next batch.

5. In a small bowl, whisk together the sour cream and cinnamon.

5. Place the latkes on a platter, top each with a dollop of the cinnamon sour cream, sprinkle with a bit of demerara sugar, and serve.

Makes about a dozen latkes, depending on how tightly you pack the measuring cup.

Adapted from Cooking Light
8 thoughts on “Potato-Apple Latkes with Cinnamon Sour Cream

  1. I’m all for potato latkes whether it’s Thanksgiving, Channukah, or neither ๐Ÿ™‚ These look so yummy! I wish I didn’t mind frying things but it always makes such a mess…i’ll have to weigh the costs/benefits when the time comes ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Thanks! The cinnamon was great, especially with the sugar sprinkled on top. It’s not every day that you get to top something savory with cinnamon & sugar ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. so, if you’re not sure if you’re serving the latkes, let me say that i myself AM serving the latkes! THESE LATKES. I’m with you on being totally over the whole Thanksgivukkah thing (b/c it’s just all so much; the internet really likes to kill things dead by overdoing it), but i was going to try and incorporate a few traditional hanukkah foods into our celebration this year, and I have obviously found my latke. If for some reason we get bogged down in normal recipes, i’m making them at some point during the week.

    • Oh, yay! I hope you like them!

      I decided that since there are 8 days of Chanukah, that I’d rather save them for another night, and keep Thanksgiving as just Thanksgiving. I think if I was having guests, and therefor would want a bigger menu, then maybe I’d add them in as another side dish. But since it’s just us, I’ll save the mess of frying for another meal.

Leave a Reply

