Beet, Fennel & Apple Soup

Beet, Fennel & Apple Soup

Remember how I mentioned a while back that I hadn’t really been in a cooking kind of mood? Unfortunately, that went on for quite a while. I’m only just starting to get back into it. I think part of it is the change of seasons (it’s finally starting to feel a little bit like fall here in SoCal). So many bloggers seem to be most inspired by summer produce. But me? I prefer the produce that comes with the cooler temps. When I see stacks of beautiful squashes, pears, apples, it makes me want to get into the kitchen and prepare something warm and comforting.

I decided I want to make a soup for dinner at least once a week throughout the fall and winter. It’s a meal that everybody loves, it can usually be made ahead of time and warmed up (essential for busy evenings after the kids come home from school), and, since it’s just as easy to make a big pot as a small pot, I can have leftovers for lunch for several days after.

I made this Beet, Fennel & Apple soup for dinner Monday night. I made a double recipe, and the hardest part was peeling the beets, which really isn’t all that hard to do. There’s just a little sautéeing, and then you throw everything else into the pot and simmer. A quick purée at the end, and you’re done!

Beet, Fennel & Apple Soup

With so many girls in the house, you just know that a pink soup went over very well!

Beet, Fennel & Apple Soup

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1 fennel bulb, diced (save fronds for garnish, or another use, if desired)

1 yellow onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, finely minced

Coarse sea salt

3 medium beets, peeled and roughly chopped

2 small apples, peeled and roughly chopped (I used Fuji apples)

6 cups vegetable or chicken broth

Freshly ground black pepper

Fennel fronds or chopped chives for garnish, if desired

1. Heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add the fennel, onion, garlic, and a big pinch of salt. Cook, stirring occasionally, for a bout 10 minutes. You want the vegetables to be softened, but not browned.

2. Add the beets, apples, and broth to the pot. Turn the heat up to high and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat, and simmer uncovered until the beets and apples are completely soft, about 30 to 35 minutes.

3. Blend the soup, either in a blender or in the pot with an immersion blender. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Makes 4 servings

From It’s All Good, by Gwyneth Paltrow & Julia Turshen

(If it seems like I’ve been cooking from this book a lot—3 out of the last 5 post contain recipes from it—it’s because I have been cooking from it a lot! I really like this book, and all the recipes I’ve made from it have been wonderful.)

8 thoughts on “Beet, Fennel & Apple Soup

  1. I love fall and all the warm and comforting foods that come with it 🙂 I can’t blame you for not wanting to cook when the temps were warmer! I’ve never made a soup with beet, but the combo with fennel and apples sounds awesome. Hehehe, love that they liked the pink soup!

    • Unfortunately, we don’t have quite the same fall here as you do in NY (and so many other places around the county–all the beautiful fall pictures I keep seeing on blogs make me so jealous!), but that won’t keep me from pretending that we do!

      The beet, fennel & apple combination was really good! A little on the sweet side, but I made sure to add lots of pepper, which balanced it out perfectly.

      … And it wasn’t just the little girls who loved the idea of pink soup–Mommy loved it just as much! 😉

    • Thank you! It WAS pretty amazing!

      And it’s so nice to know that there are other people out there who consider beets, fennel, and apples a few of their favorite things 😉

    • I think it’s probably meant to be served warm, but when I was putting some into a pot to warm it up I licked the spoon, and it did taste pretty good cold.

  2. i KNEW emma would be all over this one, because she LOVES fennel. And how could anyone not be all over this?!? I almost can’t wait to get home so i can try this one for myself; i am SUCH a sucker for beets, but i’ve never had beets, fennel, and apple all together like this. is it weird to get all giddy about soup? i don’t think so. 🙂

Leave a Reply

