Root Beer Bundt Cake

Root Beer Bundt Cake

I’ve been having such a hard time in the kitchen lately. Figuring out what to make for meals has been feeling like such a chore. I’ve had absolutely no patience for cooking. And don’t even get me started on cleaning up the kitchen after I cook. Maybe it’s because my brain wants to be on summer vacation like my kids are. I don’t know, but I sure hope this passes soon.

However, I did feel like it was time to bake something. Something new, but something simple. I thought a bundt cake would be perfect. After looking through a few of my cookbooks, I decided on this root beer bundt cake. It’s very easy to make (you don’t even need a mixer), and it tastes fantastic—like a chocolate cake, but with a twist from the root beer. We ate it as-is, but the authors suggest serving it with vanilla ice cream—a cake version of a root beer float!

Root Beer Bundt Cake

For the root beer bundt cake:

2 cups root beer (NOT diet)

1 cup dark unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch pieces

1 1/4 cups granulated sugar

1/2 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

2 large eggs

For the root beer fudge frosting:

2 ounces dark chocolate (about 60% cacao), melted and slightly cooled

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup root beer

2/3 cup dark unsweetened cocoa powder

2 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar

Make the root beer bundt cake:

1. Preheat oven to 325°F. Generously spray the inside of a 10-inch bundt pan with nonstick cooking spray (I used the kind for baking, with flour in it). Or you can butter and flour it.

2. Combine the root beer, cocoa powder, and butter in a medium saucepan. Cook over medium heat until the butter is melted. Add both sugars, and whisk until dissolved. Remove from the heat, and cool.

3. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt together.

4. Whisk the eggs together in a small bowl, until just beaten. Whisk them into the cooled cocoa mixture until combined. Gently fold the flour mixture into the cocoa mixture. Do not overbeat, or you can end up with a tough cake—the batter will be slightly lumpy, and that’s fine.

5. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 35 to 40 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through. The cake is done when a small sharp knife inserted into the cake comes out clean.

6. Transfer the pan to a wire rack to cool completely. After the cake is cooled, run a dull knife around the sides of the cake, and turn it out.

Make the root beer fudge frosting:

1. Place all the ingredients for the frosting in a food processor fitted with a metal blade. Pulse until the frosting is smooth and shiny.

2. Use a spatula to spread the frosting in a thick layer over the top of the cake, and let set before serving.

From Baked: New Frontiers in Baking, by Matt Lewis & Renato Poliafito
10 thoughts on “Root Beer Bundt Cake

  1. I’m totally with you on hating choosing what’s for dinner. It’s so hard to come up with something! I “pin” all dinner recipes I like to a dinner board on pinterest so when I want to figure out what to make i just go thru my pinterest board. It’s good for when you have NO idea.

    This cake looks so good. Can you really taste the rootbeer??

    • That’s a good idea, to make a board for quick & easy tried & true recipes. Maybe I’ll do that.

      The root beer flavor is VERY subtle because of all the chocolate. I think if you didn’t know it was in there you probably wouldn’t notice it. But it’s still a delicious cake, though! (The frosting is quite salty, but I love that with the chocolate!)

  2. i recognized this cake as soon as i saw it: i KNEW it was a Baked cake! I’ve had my eye on this one for a while now, and i was wondering the same thing; like how strong the root beer was. I was imagining it to be a lot like a chocolate Coke cake, and it sounds like that’s how it is. it looks amazing! it’s so dark, and i like that in a cake. I feel you with the kitchen right now: i’m not having as hard a time being in it, but the cleanup? i’m hating it right now too. i usually am patient with it, but not so much recently. i really think we all go through phases like that, and summer really doesn’t help much; no one wants to be cleaning when there’s fun things to do. I’m due for a braindead/i can’t cook/think/write/cleanup spell her ANY DAY now, so. 🙂

    • I’m the same way–every time you make a recipe from one of the Baked books (or another book that I have) I always recognize it right away! I really need to bake from their books more often, because their recipes are so good.

  3. “They” say never to waste calories by drinking them. So turning a root beer float into a cake has to be a good thing! 🙂 This cake looks like something my chocoholics would devour. Its so interesting to me that the root beer enhances the chocolate rather than stands out on its own. Coffee does that with chocolate too. Something chemical I wish I understood but enjoy the rich chocolaty results. 🙂 One of my solutions to the its-summer-who-wants-to-cook-and-clean blahs (other than frozen pizza) is to try to make 2 in 1 meals, so that I at least get one day off. For example, on day one we have grilled marinated chicken. On day two more of that chicken, already cooked and cold, is made into a big salad or chicken salad sandwiches. I like breakfast for dinner too. 🙂

    • Haha, totally! I refuse to drink sugary sodas, because I don’t want to waste calories on them, but I have no problem having it in a cake! Cake is worth the calories 🙂

Leave a Reply

