Peanut Butter Cookies

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

Classice Peanut Butter Cookies

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

I love trying out unique recipes, those that have unusual flavor combinations or new-to-me ingredients. It’s part of what makes baking, cooking, and eating so much fun.

But sometimes? Sometimes I just want something classic.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

1 cup (6 1/2 ounces) vegetable shortening

1 cup (7 ounces) granulated sugar

1 cup (8 ounces) dark brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup (9 1/2 ounces) creamy (or crunchy) peanut butter

3 cups (12 3/4 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

2. Cream together the shortening, sugars, eggs, vanilla, baking soda, salt, and peanut butter. Stir in the flour.

3. Drop the dough by the tablespoonful onto the lined baking sheets. Press down on each cookie with a fork to make a crisscross design.

4. Bake the cookies for about 10 minutes, or until they are lightly browned. Remove from the oven, allow to sit on the baking sheets for a minute or so, and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Makes about 4 1/2 dozen cookies (I got quite a bit more than that, but I made them on the small side)

*Recipe from The King Arthur Flour Cookie Companion

10 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Cookies | ebeab

  2. wholeheartedly agree; no matter how intense your love for crazy flavor combinations is, it’s always nice to head back to the classics (which explains the peanut butter cookie recipe on my blog, too.) 🙂 i think it’s sometimes the food equivalent of traveling to some exotic foreign land and then realizing when you get home how much you love your own space. my mom used to make PB cookies which looked just like this, and i had forgotten how cute the fork smoosh can be.

  3. Peanut butter cookies are a classic and yours look classically comforting and delicious. 🙂 Even with classic recipes there are variations and tweaks….vegetable shortening vs butter, brown sugar vs. white, chunky vs. creamy. Batches and batches of experimentation. That’s the best part! I know that white sugar (vs brown) makes things crunchier. Do you think veg shortening( vs butter) makes things crunchier too?

  4. Pingback: Top 25 Winter Cookies || Recipes -

  5. These were the worst cookies I have ever made in my entire life. They were so dry they crumbled when you picked them up!!!! DISLIKE! I baked 3 trays…and had to throw the cookie dough in the trash because it was like desert sand!!! AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL!

    • Really? I’ve made these several times, and never once has a problem with them. I’m so sorry you had a problem with them! Did you maybe you use too much flour, or use an all-natural peanut butter? That can lead to dry cookies. Otherwise, I have no idea why they didn’t work out for you 😦

  6. I just made these and they were amazing! I even used oil instead of butter! One batch I cooked 5 mins longer for a more crunchy cookie. Another batch I added some m&ms and cooked them for 10 mins, they were soft and delightful. They only thing I would do differently is probably add half a cup more peanut butter next time..for even more pb flavor. Yum!

Leave a Reply

