Vanilla Bean Latte Ruffle Cake {A favorite Cake, Revisited}

IMG_5897c

Yesterday was my sister-in-law’s bridal shower. I was asked if I could do some baking for it, and of course I said yes!

Since it was a brunch, I thought that a Vanilla Bean Latte Layer Cake (you can find the recipe HERE) would be perfect for it. I doubled the buttercream recipe, and turned it into a ruffle cake (you can find a tutorial HERE.)

I also made Blueberry Crumble Bars (you can find the recipe in THIS post, along with a picture of my first attempt at a ruffle cake) and Cinnamon Buns (recipe HERE).

2 thoughts on “Vanilla Bean Latte Ruffle Cake {A favorite Cake, Revisited}

  1. i know you say this is easier than it looks, and i would believe than it’s easier than getting the sides perfectly smooth (something i will probably never be able to do correctly), but still. i look at it and am mini-terrified of ever trying it? But i really want to try it. maybe i’ll just make a practice cake and try it…like not for anything special, so no one has to know when i screw up. 🙂

    • I promise, it really IS super easy. Like, this is my second time EVER using this technique, and it came out great (much better than my first try, and even that one wasn’t half bad). Just make sure to use a very sturdy frosting, like a Swiss meringue buttercream, so that the ruffles don’t start flopping over!

      If you do try it, let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

