Pizza with Pears, Goat Cheese & Port-Thyme Caramelized Onions

Pizza with Pears, Goat Cheese & Port-Thyme Caramelized Onions

I love pizza.

I love goat cheese.

I love caramelized onions.

I love cooking with wine.

I somehow managed to combine all of that into one recipe.

And I couldn’t help but sing THIS SONG while making it.

Pizza with Pears, Goat Cheese & Port-Thyme Caramelized Onions

Pizza with Pears, Goat Cheese & Port-Thyme Caramelized Onions

I set aside some pizza dough that I made for dinner to try this with, so the amounts in this recipe are for a small pizza made with 8 oz. of pizza dough, enough for two people (or one, if you’re me).

1 tablespoon olive oil (I used a nonstick pan, you may need more oil for a regular pan)

1 large onion, sliced

Kosher salt & Freshly ground pepper

1/4 cup port wine (probably any red wine would be fine)

1/8 teaspoon dried thyme (or more, to taste)

1/2 pound pizza dough, homemade or store-bought (I love THIS recipe)

Sliced pear (I used small Forelle pears, so I needed 3 of them. If using larger pears you’d probably just need one.)

1 1/2 ounces goat cheese

Cornmeal, for sprinkling

1) Preheat oven to 500°F. If you have a pizza stone, make sure it is in the oven before you turn it on. If you do not have one, you can just bake the pizza on a baking sheet.

2) Heat olive oil in a medium skillet over medium-low heat. When hot, add onion and a large pinch of kosher salt. Cook, stirring occasionally, until deep golden. Add port, and cook until liquid is just about evaporated. Remove from heat and add thyme and a generous amount of freshly ground black pepper.

3) Since I don’t have a pizza peel, I’ve found that the best way to transfer my pizza onto the pizza stone is to prepare it on a piece of parchment on the back of a baking sheet, and then slide the pizza onto the stone along with the parchment. I then slide the parchment out from underneath the pizza after a few minutes of baking since parchment burns at 500°.

Sprinkle a piece of parchment paper, a pizza peel, or a baking sheet with cornmeal. Roll the pizza dough it very thin (or thick, if that’s your preference), and place on the prepared parchment/peel/baking sheet. Top with the caramelized onions, pears, and goat cheese.

4) Transfer the pizza to the oven and bake until the crust starts to brown, about 10 minutes. If you use the parchment paper, remember to remove it from underneath the pizza after the first 4-5 minutes!

2 thoughts on “Pizza with Pears, Goat Cheese & Port-Thyme Caramelized Onions

  1. Wow. I love:
    1. this post.
    2. this pizza (and pizza in general)
    3. cooking with wine (because hi, love the crazy flavor it adds to things
    4. The Sound of Music. I have both “I Have Confidence” and “The Lonely Goatherd” in my “Workout 2013” playlist. Because, yes, i can workout to Julie Andrews. It’s quite the eclectic mix, and i’m just hoping one day my headphones don’t go rogue and unplug and the whole gym hears it.
    5. quite obviously, your musical selection for this pizza.
    i’m making this. i’m instituting saturday pizza nights this january (for the year), but they have to be homemade pizza versus takeout. we’ll have lots to talk about. 🙂

  2. Over the summer I was doing pizza once a week, but I’ve kinda let it slide. I need to get back to it.

    I love The Sound of Music, but I can’t imagine working out to it! My workout songs tend to be high-energy punk rock mostly. With the occasional Glee song thrown in, of course.

Leave a Reply

