Thanksgiving 2012

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving! Mine was really nice. It was just the 5 of us this year so I kept it relatively simple (I have a hard time doing really simple!). No appetizers, no multiple courses. Just one main course and dessert.

I went with a Slow-Roasted Herbed Turkey Roast rather than a whole turkey. The flavor of the rub was really good, but the meat was a little dry. It was kind of disappointing, since I have made quite a few turkeys and turkey roasts before and none of them were ever dried out. Oh well. I just ate it with lots of cranberry chutney.

To go alongside the turkey, I made a Cranberry, Cherry, and Walnut Chutney. I made this several years ago and really liked it, so I decided to do it again. It was as good as I remember, and I have tons of leftovers (it makes a lot!).

I also made my grandmother’s recipe for stuffing. Okay, so technically it’s dressing, since it’s cooked in a baking dish and not inside the bird. But we always called it stuffing when I was growing up and the name’s kinda stuck. Unlike most stuffing/dressing recipes, this one is not based on bread cubes. It’s actually based on crushed saltine crackers, and I loooove the flavor it gives to the dish. It’s also pretty much the only thing I will use onion soup mix for. I made a nice big dish of this, and will be happily picking at the leftovers for days 🙂

While mashed potatoes are one of the usual sides for Thanksgiving, I decided to forgo them this year. For me, the only purpose they serve is as a vehicle for loads of gravy, and since I wasn’t making gravy this year I didn’t need them. Instead I made Duchess Potatoes. These were so good! And the kids really loved them, unlike mashed potatoes which they aren’t huge fans of. I also like that they could mostly be prepared ahead of time, and then buttered and baked while the turkey rests. I will definitely be making these again! (And sorry for the lousy picture. These were the one dish that wasn’t finished until after it got dark outside, so I had no natural light to photograph these in.)

My last side dish were these Green Beans with Caramelized Onions. I also made these a few years ago and I remember them being really good, so I decided to make them again this year. Somehow I managed to only buy half the amount of green beans that I needed, but that’s okay. While I love green beans, my favorite part of these are the onions anyhow. So I had mostly onions and a few green beans, my husband had equal parts green beans and onions, and the kids had only green beans and no onions. All was good 🙂

Since I had already made several pies this fall (including a pumpkin pie), I went untraditional with dessert and made these Tartlets with Pastry Cream and  Pomegranate Poached Pears (I used forelle pears, and placed one on each tartlet). It was a perfect end to an already great meal, and didn’t weigh us down like most pies do.

Now it’s time to stop procrastinating, and start cleaning up the mess in the kitchen. Fun.

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving 2012

  1. a big hooray for small Thanksgiving feasts! 🙂 and yes, do you not feel like it takes twice as long to clean up as it did to make the food? we thought so; i think we still have dishes. So…much…to…handwash. i love your menu so much! that cranberry chutney looks amazing; i feel like i want to make that right now, for no reason. and what a nice potato alternative; i hate to say it, but if i had to pick a least favorite dish on thanksgiving, it’s the mashed potatoes. they’re so heavy! i would much prefer your alternative. and could those tarts be any sweeter looking? I think not. Happy thanksgiving to you and yours, Faygie!

Leave a Reply

