Stay-at-Home Birthday Celebration

While celebrating a birthday at a restaurant with just my husband is usually MY first choice (a nice dinner that I don’t have to cook or clean up after, and with no kids fighting or complaining? Yes, please!), for Chaim’s birthday yesterday we decided to do a family dinner at home.

I cooked up some rib-eye steaks on the grill pan (I just sprinkled them with kosher salt and coarsely ground black pepper), and made my favorite caramelized onions to top them with: I sliced 2 medium/large onions and caramelized them in 2 tablespoons of olive oil and a generous pinch of kosher salt over medium-low heat. When they were a deep golden brown, I turned the heat up to high and added 3/4 cup dry red wine and let that cook down for a few minutes (until the liquid was almost evaporated). I just love the contrast of the sweet onions with the salt and pepper on the meat!

 

I also made some other favorites to round out the meal – Marinated Spanish Olives, rosemary roasted potatoes, and roasted asparagus.

 

And then we finished off the meal with some chocolate-dipped strawberries (we had his cake the previous Sunday).

 

 

Leave a Reply

