Semisweet, Butterscotch and White Chocolate Chip Bars

So many times, while I’m out shopping, I throw something or another into my cart just so I have it on hand in case I want to make something with it one day. And all too often whatever it is that I buy languishes in the pantry until I eventually throw it out because I can’t even remember when I bought it (I’ve found stuff that expired years ago in there!).

Several months ago, I came home with a package of butterscotch chips, and I was determined to find something to use them in sometime in the near future. While flipping through a cookbook the other day, I came across a recipe for butterscotch and white chocolate chip cookies. (Perfect! Now I can use the butterscotch chips AND the white chocolate chips that have been in the freezer for… a while.) However, I didn’t really have the time this week to spend time baking batches of cookies, so I thought, why not use the same two chips to make bar cookies? This way I could bake it all at once, and not have to baby-sit the oven. And then while I was measuring out the chips, I thought that maybe I’d add some semisweet mini-chips into the mix, too (um… yes, the mini-chips were another “in case I need them one day” purchase). And I’m glad I added them in – the three flavors of chips balanced each other perfectly.

These were good. Really good.

Semisweet, Butterscotch and White Chocolate Chip Bars

2 3/4 cups (11 1/2 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2/3 cup (1 1/3 sticks, 5 1/4 ounces) unsalted butter, melted

2 1/4 cups (18 ounces) brown sugar

3 large eggs

1 cup semisweet mini chocolate chips

1 cup butterscotch chips

1 cup white chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Lightly grease a 10 x 15-inch jelly roll pan, a 14-inch deep dish pizza pan, or similar sized pan.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

3. In another large bowl, combine the melted butter and brown sugar, stirring until smooth. Allow the mixture to cool slightly. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Stir in the flour mixture, then the chips. Spread the batter into the prepared pan.

4. Bake the bars for 24 to 26 minutes, until their top is shiny and golden. Don’t overbake or the bars will be dry; a cake tester inserted in the center will not come out clean. Remove the bars from the oven and cool to room temperature before cutting.

Makes 35 bars

*Adapted from King Arthur Flour

Leave a Reply

