Mini Mocha Cheesecakes

My husband, Chaim, has mentioned to me once or twice many times that he would love for me to make cheesecake more often (I make it once a year, tops), so I knew that that would be the perfect thing for me to surprise him with when he came back from his business trip yesterday. I usually stick with a classic vanilla cheesecake, but I wanted to try something different this time. After doing some online searching, I found  this recipe. Unlike a regular cheesecake, which is made with cream cheese, this is made with pureed nonfat cottage cheese. I was a little skeptical about making a low-fat cheesecake, but it had good reviews so I went with it. They were great – so rich and creamy! I love when a healthier version of a recipe is just as decadent as the full-fat version. I definitely want to play around with this, and try making different flavors using the same method.

Mini Mocha Cheesecakes

2 cups nonfat cottage cheese

2 large eggs

1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tablespoon plus 1 1/2 teaspoons all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons instant espresso powder

1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

9 chocolate wafer cookies, such as Famous (see note, below)

Whipped cream, for serving (optional)

Preheat oven to 275°F. Line 9 standard muffin cups with cupcake liners. In a food processor, combine cottage cheese, eggs, confectioners’ sugar, cocoa powder, flour, espresso powder, and vanilla. Process until smooth, 4 minutes, scraping down sides as needed. Divide mixture among cups and place one cookie on top of each. Bake until fillings are set and cookies soften, 25 to 30 minutes. Let cool to room temperature in pan on wire rack, then refrigerate at least 1 1/2 hours (or, covered, up to 3 days). to serve, invert cheesecakes onto plates and peel off liners. Top with a dollop of whipped cream if desired.

9 servings

*Adapted from Martha Stewart (Everyday Food)

Note: Instead of chocolate wafer cookies, I used chocolate sandwich cookies, opened up, like this:

3 thoughts on “Mini Mocha Cheesecakes

  1. i’m so happy about these! confession: i’ve never, ever made anything substituting cottage cheese for ______ (insert other thing here, like ricotta in lasagna or cream cheese in cheesecake). and i’ve always wanted to, but i had the same reservations: would it really be as creamy good? I’m definitely trying these for myself, because i love low-fat substitutions that don’t sacrifice quality.

    • I made these a year and a half ago, but I do remember that I liked them! (I was looking through some old posts, and edited a mistake I found in this one. I’m guessing that’s why you got a notification or something about this.)

      Vanilla cheesecake it still my favorite, though! 🙂

  2. oh gosh GHOST POST! i should have noticed the date, but i think i just got so excited about the cheesecakes. it showed up in the google reader, and it’s been happening to a few other people too. i wonder if it IS when you update something…hmmm.
    vanilla kicks other cheesecakes’ butts, or sure. agree. chocolate always seems like the decadent version of just the straightforward vanilla. which reminds me that i haven’t made my annual cheesecake in a LONG time (which is a ny classic)

Leave a Reply

