Cupcakes, Just Because

I was home all day with a baby who refused to take a nap, so I figured what the heck, why not make some cupcakes?

I threw together a new chocolate cupcake recipe, but the truth is it really wasn’t all that great. Not terrible, but I’ve made several recipes that were much better than this one, so I’m not even going to bother posting it.

Now for the frosting: I have an almost full bottle of amaretto (almond liqueur) hanging around, so I decided to make a frosting using it. I thought it was really good. It had a pretty mild amaretto flavor (at least in my opinion), so if you want it stronger you can increase the amount of amaretto and decrease the amount of milk or vanilla.

Amaretto Buttercream
Faygie Moorvitch

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter (or margarine)
12 ounces confectioner’s sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 tablespoons amaretto
2 tablespoons milk (or soy milk)

In a large bowl, cream the butter until fluffy. With the mixer on low, slowly add the confectioner’s sugar. Beat until blended. Add vanilla, amaretto and milk. Beat on high for several minutes until really fluffy.

Makes enough to frost 12 cupcakes

One thought on “Cupcakes, Just Because

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Cupcakes with Amaretto Buttercream: Version 2.0 |

Leave a Reply

