A Sweet Surprise

My daughter Miriam turned four recently, and I thought it would be fun to surprise her with a cake I’ve been seeing on many blogs lately – a rainbow cake! I kept making a big deal about it, telling her that I was going to be making her a really cool cake, so I think she was a little confused when she first saw it, and it was just a plain white-frosted cake…

Until we cut into it and she saw what was inside!

Needless to say, she loved it!

I used the cake recipe from Whisk Kid ( HERE ) , but I needed to keep the cake dairy-free, so I used THIS frosting recipe from Wilton (and I subbed soy milk for the milk in the cake recipe). With this frosting the cake was delicious, but very rich, so you can really only eat a small piece – making this a great cake for a crowd.

Here’s a picture of my beautiful birthday girl 🙂

One thought on “A Sweet Surprise

  1. Pingback: Rainbow Cake: Blue/Green Theme |

Leave a Reply

