Milano Sandwich Cookies

When it comes to cooking and baking I am a complete control freak – I do not let anybody into the kitchen to help me. Ever. And when I am at somebody else’s house, and they happen to be cooking, I somehow almost always end up taking over. So when I promised my girls that I would make cookies with them today, I knew it would take every ounce of patience I could muster to actually let THEM do some of the work.

After looking through several cookbooks to find a recipe that used only ingredients I already had in the house, we decided on these Milano Cookies. We made the dough together (I measured, they poured), and I shaped the cookies while they watched. After they were all baked and cooled, I made the chocolate filling and all three of us spread and sandwiched. It ended up being a lot of fun, and I’m really glad I did this with them!

I only made one small mistake – most cookie recipes I make use unsalted butter, so I used that without even thinking about it, though this recipe calls for regular butter. And I did not add any salt to the batter. They still came out great, though!

 
Milano Sandwich Cookies
1 cup (2 sticks) margarine or butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup light brown sugar
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
7 ounces good quality semisweet chocolate, broken into small pieces (I used bittersweet chocolate)
2 tablespoons butter or margarine
 
 
Preheat oven to 325F. Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper. Set aside.
 
 
In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream the margarine or butter and sugar. Add the vanilla and flour, mixing until smooth.
 
 
Using a teaspoon measure, remove a level teaspoon of dough. Roll between you palms into a log. Place the dough log on the inside of your middle finger of your non-dominant hand. Your middle finger serves as a guide. Using your thumb and middle finger of your other hand, shape the dough into a log that extends from the tip of your finger to the line of your knuckle (about 2 inches long). This will ensure that your cookies are of uniform size.
 
 
Place the formed cookies on the prepared cookie sheets, leaving about 1-inch between cookies.
Bake for 17-18 minutes, or until golden brown. Remove from the sheet to cool.
 
 
Place the chocolate and 2 tablespoons margarine or butter into a microwave safe dish, and microwave at 70% for 1 minute. Stir until smooth and completely melted. (I don’t have a microwave, so I just melted it over low heat on the stove.)
 
 
Spread about 1/2 teaspoon chocolate on the flat side of one cookie. Top with another cookie, and push them slightly askew so the chocolate shows from between the cookies.
 
 
30-36 cookies (I somehow ended up with 47 cookies) 
One thought on “Milano Sandwich Cookies

Leave a Reply

